Heart

Leb. Kardia. Heart

The word occurs in Hebrew and Christian Scripture with a great deal of regularity. But what does it refer to? The fist-sized muscle so responsible for our life, its regular pumping integral to our health? Or something more? Something deeper?

I’ve been struggling with the word – as well as related Hebraic, Greek, and modern concepts – for a few months now, as a result of a specific teaching of Jesus: “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.”

What does it mean to be “pure in heart,” I wonder? How does one cultivate that? I’ve been thinking/reflecting on the notion, and will use the blog here as one means to explore it a bit more. (And, no doubt, I’ll eventually find a voice and share about other things, as well.)

So, this is just the start – literally, as I work to figure out WordPress. But I do hope, if you’re reading this, that you’ll stick with my rambling for a while. And I hope when the time is right, you’ll share your own thoughts, too.

One response to “Heart

  1. I like the word “Leb” in your title/subtitle. It sounds like the sound of the heart, lub dub, lub dub, leb dub.

    Nina

Leave a Reply

