words from Europe

I’m prepping for a message this Sunday about “vacationing with God” in Europe, so was perusing my journal from my travels. (Once upon a time I had a travel weblog online, before “blog” was even coined, but it is gone now!) Here are two quick excerpts for anyone interested.

We headed down the Champs d’ Elysees toward the Louvre, walked through its garden and past the museum to see Notre Dame… Notre Dame was an experience beyond words. Built to edify God and Reason, and to strive toward the Heavens, it towers above you. I felt humbled, and awed, in the presence of Another greater than I… I want to write something significant and profound, especially after such emotionally moving and spiritually uplifting experiences in Notre Dame and Sainte Chapelle. Unfortunately, I’m too sore and tired… (August 30, 1997)

Paris overwhelmed my mind… My traveling is instilling in me a greater sense of history and an overflowing sense of awe for the artistry of man, and his devotion to God in decades past. (September 2, 1997)

Leave a Reply

