(Epicurious) What is the best thing you’ve ever eaten?

Earlier post has me wondering, and thought I’d pose the question:

What is the best thing you’ve ever eaten?

and, while we’re at it, What was the worst?
Share your answers in the comments or over on my Facebook page. As for me…

The best thing I’ve ever eaten: Shrimp Scampi, at a small restaurant in Luxembourg. My fellow student-teachers and I were taken there one evening for a celebration meal, ostensibly because they had great Paella. But the scampi stole the show for me – huge prawns, cooked to perfection – likely in butter, white wine, and garlic, but I’m not really sure. Wish I could remember the name of the place off the top of my head – Chez Something or Other. It catered to the Luxembourg royalty, and was excellent. Best food I’ve ever eaten.

The worst thing I’ve ever eaten: hands down, smoked eggplant. My own error. First, eggplant can be grilled – as a vegetable it would cook very well with a quick sear on the grill. However, I tried to slow smoke it. And I didn’t know how to properly smoke yet, so mostly I just overcooked it and “sooted” it instead of smoking it. The end result was an ash encrusted mush that couldn’t be considered food anywhere in the world. Lynn and I ate one bite each – I’m not even sure we swallowed. Our german exchange student, bless her heart, tried to eat it. She really tried, well beyond what we did…

So, what’s yours? Best? Worst?

Leave a Reply

