Vampires & Inner Prayer (a dream)

What does it suggest about your spiritual journey when things start entering your dreams?

Tuesday morning, before I left home for the Academy, I woke up from a dream. For a bit of context: 1) the day before I had finished the last episode of the last season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which I had been watching while I walked/jogged on the treadmill over the last year, and 2) I have often, in the past, dreamnt about slaying vampires (in fact, this has been a recurrent dreams for years before I ever watched Buffy).

So here’s Tuesday morning’s dream:

We’re inside Buffy’s home, in the kitchen. There is a horde of vampires descending on the house, more than I could ever possibly slay by myself. Willow Rosenberg is in the kitchen with me, and we look at each other, and realize (without speaking) the way to battle the demons. We both begin saying the Jesus Prayer over and over… in full assurance it is all that is needed… and I wake up.

Willow’s position in the dream is interesting to me. By the end of the series, she has progressed from a meek geek to a powerful worker of magic (i.e. witch). In season 6 she became evil, but was brought back by her friends. So she knows what evil can do, and throughout season 7 is afraid of using powers that might lead to evil; but in the last episode, when it matters, she draws on powers of good to help defeat the bad guy.

Perhaps the house in this case is a reflection of my heart, with Willow as a recognition that we might know evil, or even have done it in the past, but it doesn’t have to be the way of the heart. The vampiric horde could stand for all the temptations, evils, etc that lay in wait outside, ready to invade…

…and the prayer is a means by which we can secure the heart.

Just at thought, anyway.

Leave a Reply

