Wisdom

Yesterday I began to read the book of Proverbs during my personal devotional time (this sentence in and of itself could become the basis for a post, but I’ll refrain). This morning, before I rose to go to morning worship, I read chapter 3, in which we find:

13 Happy are those who find wisdom…
17 Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace.

In lectio divina style, I meditated on those two phrases from the chapter. Prov. 3:17 was John Wesley’s most oft-quoted proverb, although his sermons and writings demonstrate a clear affinity with the message of ch. 3. I thought this morning to reflect quietly on this over the day.

“Happy” are those who find wisdom. This particularly strikes me, for more reasons that I feel I can publicly reflect on! But the promise – or at least observation – here is that happiness accompanies wisdom, whose ways are “pleasantness,” and whose paths are “peace.”

Then, in worship, we heard a passage of Scripture read that referenced some who were known to be “wise,” the magi from the east who travel to Jerusalem to worship the new-born king of the Jews. We read in Matthew 2:

10 When they saw that the star had stopped, they were overwhelmed with joy.

The wisdom these eastern visitors had achieved led them toward God. Specifically, it led them to where they could encounter Christ. And when the guiding star of that particular path had led them to the right place, the right moment, “they were overwhelmed with joy.”

I think Wesley would agree with me, that true wisdom naturally leads us to Jesus Christ. And, in Christ – through the mystery that is incarnation, crucifixion, and resurrection – we find true joy.

One response to “Wisdom

Leave a Reply

