Icons

I brought two pictures with me this week – one of Will and Kate, and one of just Kate (you can view the Kate pic here). There have been a few times when I’ve set them out on the desk I sit at during our learning sessions. This morning one of my fellow students commented on the “icons” I put out before me…

There is definitely some truth to that, I suppose. “You are the best icon of God,” we are told by the Orthodox. Human beings, created in God’s image, are a means by which we can see God. Icons are means by which we look through the “thing” to see the beauty and wonder of our Creator behind them… and when I look at the photos of our children, I am definitely both awed and drawn toward love, which are both characteristics of drawing closer to God. (Not to mention that they make me smile!)

Leave a Reply

