Making Hay in AZ…

There’s an old proverb I have heard many times (though perhaps more often while I was pastoring in the Midwest): “Make hay while the sun shines.”

This has been rattling around in my head the last two days, so I thought I’d finally commit it to paper (or the interwebs, anyway). You see, one of my inner reflections about all the responses I’ve seen to the story of the Tucson shooting this past weekend keeps suggesting to me: “we’re making hay in the dark.”

Even as I’ve responded or commented about the events of the last week, I’ve been appalled by some voices utilizing the event, or peoples’ responses to the event, etc, to make some political point or score some ideological victory. The irony is not lost on me that some of the voices that most angered me were the ones complaining about some other side “politicizing” the tragedy.

Hay seed germinates in the dark of the soil, shell breaking and stalk first breaking forth into the light as a little shoot that will grow. Then the plant grows and matures, and then it can be gathered.

I hope that, despite some of the claims and accusations and defensive postures of people now, there will some day be some growth out of the national, state, (and for some, very personal) darkness experienced this last week. I hope that the seed that is breaking and transforming into a stalk may lead us into deeper, civil, transformative discussions around some real issues that are coming into light in the midst of this event, areas we need to pursue substantive dialogue…

In the end, we can and should make hay when the sun is up in part because the hayseed’s transformation began in the dark…

Leave a Reply

